The John "Corky" Hancock Memorial Scholarship was founded in 2015 to perpetuate the memory of a Downriver businessman and philanthropist who believed hard work should be recognized and rewarded.  His kindness and generosity lead to the creation of the Corky Hancock Memorial Scholarship, which is given annually to DCTC students who wish to further their education in the skilled trades. It can be applied to post-secondary institutions, apprenticeships or other highly specialized post-secondary technical education.

If you will be a completer of one of the following programs, download the application from the link below and provide the completed application to your counselor by March 18th.  

Students should be from the following programs:

• Auto Body
• Auto Technology
• Aviation Technology

• Construction Trades
• Mechanical drafting
• Mechatronics
• Welding
• Woodworking

Ford Plant Manager Jon Gifford (second from right) and UAW Region 1A Director Chuck Browning (far right), discuss the future of the trades with students from the program. Pictured are Arthur Ibegbu (left), Colin Page, Wyatt McDavid, Brendan Kar and Derrick Ilich.

Thanks to the generous support of the Ford Motor Company, DCTC will once again be having four, $1,000 scholarships provided to our students.

Download the application from the link below and provide the completed application to your counselor by March 18th.  

Pictured above is the 2019 Ford Motor Company scholarship winners with Ms. Motisola Washington, along with the UAW Local 3000 program volunteers.  Picture in the front row from R to L, Mr. Paul Cantiberry, Mr. Jerry Devola, and Mr. Jack Buckenmeyer.  Second Row R to L, Mr. Brenden Campbell, and Mr. Derek Martin. Thank you all for your support of education!

 Serving the districts of: Airport | Flat Rock | Gibraltar | Grosse Ile | Huron | Riverview | Southgate | Trenton |  Woodhaven-Brownstown 

Pictured above is the 2019 Corky Hancock scholarship winners with Ms. Catherine Teifer, the scholarship founder.